Author Topic: What to recommend  (Read 2903 times)

graciious

What to recommend
« on: June 05, 2012, 09:37:52 »

I am a Garmin guy, but I don't want to lead people down the only path I know.   I have recently introduced a friend to geocaching and they enjoy it but I need a recommendation for a paperless GPS.  Something that is waterproof and as kid friendly as possible would be nice (he likes to hold it while it's navigating).

The Magellan options are looking good for entry level, I am not sure how the Dakota/Oregon line is running at the moment.  I hope someone can give me their thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

bluelamb03

• Administrator
  • Big Time Cacher
  • Good hunting everyone!
Re: What to recommend
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2012, 10:42:00 »
I'm a Garmin guy too, I've had some poor experiences with Magellan in the distant past, but as an entry level device I think highly of the Magellan GC. It's inexpensive and easy to use but more importantly it arrives already loaded with useful maps. Even inexpensive Garmin units often require you to make an additional purchase of one of their map products.

Don't get me wrong, I like the detailed maps I use, and appreciate being able to toggle between topographic maps and road maps depending on my goals, but that takes money and a degree of user knowledge that your newcomer might not possess yet. Have them check out the Magellan line; things have improved in the last five years....

Blue -
Without shared stories we are strangers.
- Sheila Mendonça

missbug

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2012, 14:02:58 »
i would not recommend a garmin unit to any first-time user. the devices and manuals are not user friendly! nevermind the whole map business.

i did recommend the magellan xplorist GC to friends in southern ontario who wanted to try caching and they are happy with the unit and have now found hundreds of caches!

BlackRose67

• Big Time Cacher
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2012, 16:11:54 »