Author Topic: More 'sturm and drang' about powertrails....  (Read 1141 times)

bluelamb03

• Administrator
  • Big Time Cacher
  • Good hunting everyone!
More 'sturm and drang' about powertrails....
« on: December 27, 2012, 12:44:14 »
Some one posted this on FaceBook recently, http://100peaks.com/2012/12/22/geocaching-organized-littering/comment-page-1/#comment-936 and I just had to respond....

I’ve been geocaching since 2003 (userID Bluelamb03) and I’ve seen the sport evolve as more people join in the fun. Back in the beginning the trail pictured in the article would have had one or two geocaches on it, usually at the very top, or well off the trail. Now, with more people participating there has developed an ‘extreme geocaching’ style that challenges individuals to achieve extraordinary feats. Perhaps the challenge is to solve an incredible puzzle to get the cache co-ordinates, or accomplish a particular achievement like the ‘Fizzy 81? challenge, or perhaps the challenge is to find not just one cache on a trail, but every cache of 100 or more on the trail.

Regardless of whether there’s one cache or 100 caches on that trail they are essentially transparent to the person hiking past. They are hidden out of casual sight so they cannot constitute ‘litter’, and a “powertrail” by definition must have the caches close to the trail so they don’t contribute to the creation of new ‘social trails’. Unless you looked at a geocaching map, as pictured above, you wouldn’t know if you were hiking past two caches or two hundred.