Author Topic: Grade 4 Teacher Needs Your Help!  (Read 1272 times)

clover4019

Grade 4 Teacher Needs Your Help!
« on: April 04, 2013, 17:34:24 »
I am a grade 4 teacher in Ottawa who has a very excited group of students who have just found out there is 'treasure' all around them. Being new to geocaching myself, I am looking for someone willing to come in and talk with us about geocaching. Maybe a show and tell type of talk to help us get some of the 'lingo' down.

I'm also looking to start a geocaching club at our school and could use some advice on what types of gps units to buy/where to get them/...and possible avenues to explore for school discounts. If anyone had an old gps unit they aren't using anymore...donations would be greatly accepted!

Any replies would be much appreciated! I want kids to realize that there are exciting things waiting for them OUTSIDE and AWAY from their video game systems.

Tracey Tinley

CacherCass

Re: Grade 4 Teacher Needs Your Help!
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 20:50:19 »
Hi Tracey,

I'd definitely be interested in coming and talking to the kids! Hopefully one of the more "experienced" geocachers could come in with me to give more detail, but I can provide the youthful aspect, as I'm 20 (and one of the younger Ottawa cachers). I'm also a summer camp counsellor with kids ranging from 3-15 years old and this summer I will be leading an outdoor adventure camp with geocaching lessons, so this works perfectly. I hope we can work something out!

- Cassie aka CacherCass

GreyingJay

Re: Grade 4 Teacher Needs Your Help!
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 21:41:20 »
Depending on when and where, I may be able to help out too! Also look up Sakidoo, she and I have done lessons and class-caching to students at a local school in the past.

A couple of thoughts based on our past experiences: