Author Topic: GSAK to find caches that are close to a list of points  (Read 2349 times)

sasharambles

I'm new to GSAK, but it seems capable of so much I'm wondering if I could get it to do this:

I was trying to create a PQ of caches within X metres of a Metro station (any Metro station) in Montreal. I tried initially creating routes that (more or less) follow the Metro lines, but not only was this tedious & inaccurate, I ran into what appears to be a limitation on the number of intermediate points that you can add to a route.

What I'm picturing is being able to enter the coordinates of the Metro stations, and then create a filter(?) that includes only caches that are within easy walking distance of any of those points. Actually thinking of doing something similar for the Transitway in Ottawa, given how much fun we had today riding the bus to collect clues for GAG 8 TRANSITART (http://coord.info/GCV7KV).

Is this something I could do with GSAK?

TIA!

Sasha

kirok

• Administrator
  • Big Time Cacher
  • "To boldly find what no cacher has logged before!"
    • Binthair Challenge
Re: GSAK to find caches that are close to a list of points
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2014, 12:04:12 »
Yes, you can, but it's a bit complicated.

Under the Tools menu, you'll see "Polygon / Line Drawing Tool".   A map will open up, and with it you can draw a polygon around an area on the map to create GPS coordinate boundaries around a specific area.   Once you have your Polygon created, you'll see it on the right.  Assuming your GSAK database is fully populated with caches from the target area, you can then use this polygon in a custom Search filter to limit the caches to only the ones that are within your boundary.